Facebook Twitter More...

Orem Community Hospital, American Fork Hospital, and Utah Valley Regional Medical Center are recognized for providing tobacco-free campuses

PROVO, Utah (June 25, 2013) -- The Coalition for A Tobacco Free Utah recently presented three Intermountain Healthcare hospitals in Utah County awards for providing tobacco-free campuses. These hospitals implemented to tobacco-free policy as part of the American Cancer Society's Great American Smokeout in 2008. Last year they were awarded the Butt Kicker Award, and they have continued their tobacco prevention efforts for the last half decade.

The Utah County Health Department and the Utah Valley Chamber of Commerce nominated Utah Valley Regional Medical Center, Orem Community, and American Fork Hospitals to be recognized by the Coalition for a Tobacco-Free Utah "for providing a tobacco-free campus to protect the health of the community they serve."

Val Hale, Utah Valley Chamber of Commerce president and CEO, said, "Intermountain Healthcare has always been a leader in Utah County. Their leading out on the tobacco-free campus is yet another example of their forward thinking and leadership on important healthcare issues."

"We appreciate you supporting us," said Steven Smoot, Regional Vice President, Urban South Region, Intermountain Healthcare. "We felt that if any organization in Utah County should be doing this, it should be us that starts. We did it to set the example and to make sure people understood we were a place of healing. We accept an individuals right to smoke -- we aren't trying to take that away -- but don't want to expose our patients to the secondhand smoke."

All Intermountain Healthcare Utah County hospitals opted to adopt tobacco free campus procedures in 2008. Intermountain implemented state-wide tobacco free policies in 2009. Their policy offered nicotine replacement therapies for patients who smoke. Employees who use tobacco begin being charged an additional fee for insurance premiums in 2012. They also started offer nicotine replacement therapies to their employees and helped pay for smoking cessation efforts.

Dr. Joseph Miner, Executive Director for the Utah County Health Department, presented the awards along with Raven Albertson and Andrea Jensen, UCHD Health Educators, and Val Hale of the Chamber. Steven Smoot and Ethan Shumway, Regional Communications and Public Relations Director, accepted the awards on behalf of the Intermountain Healthcare hospitals.

Tobacco Free Utah Award to Intermountain Healthcare

The Utah County Health Department is committed to promoting the health of our community by preventing avoidable disease and injury by monitoring the health of our community to assure conditions in which people can be healthy. For information on UCHD programs or services, please visit www.UtahCountyHealth.org or call 801-851-7000. You can now also follow all the UCHD social media channels from www.UtahCountyHealth.org/SocialMedia.


Photo: Tobacco Free Utah Award

High resolution photo